NBA Finals

The NBA Finals is the annual championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference winners play a best-of-seven game set to ascertain the league champion. The winners of the Finals are awarded the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was initially Called the BAA Finals before the 1949–50 year when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) merged with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The contest oversaw further name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, in addition to a brief stint as the Showdown, before settling NBA Finals in 1986. [1]
The NBA Finals was initially structured at a 2–2–1–1–1 structure. In 1985, to ease the quantity of cross-country journey, it was changed to a 2–3–2 format, in which the first two and final two games of the series were played in the stadium of the team who made home-court advantage by having the better record during the regular season. The two –2–1–1–1 structure was restored. The first two matches are played the higher-seeded team’s house, the subsequent two at the house of the lower-seeded team, and the remaining three are played at each team’s home arena . [2]
A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics hold the record for the many victories, having won the competition 17 times, as well as the many consecutive titles, winning 8 times from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the most times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the most champions, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Conference has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more:

Comments are closed.